• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Anyone have alternatives for gauze?

I have had two perianal fistulas for close to two years now. I have been using gauze down there all this time to soak up the drainage. However, it is so expensive, and I am still a poor old university student. 25 of the knock off brand are close to $10. I shudder to think about how much money I have spent on these little pieces of cloth over the last two years. They also make a lot of waste.

My question is, does anyone use things like reusable/cloth gauze (similar to cloth diapers), or any other alternative? If you do, do you have any recommendations?

Thanks folks!

How much drainage do you have? You are right about the gauze being expensive. I use cotton rounds( it is actually used to remove make-up)and in my case it is enough to absorb the drainage. Not all cotton rounds are created equal, some fall apart/disintegrate. I use the one that has a smooth side to it, not the quilted one. I buy in bulk from Costco, swispers brand. Try it out first, you can get it at Target or walmart in smaller quantities.

I have used those when I have run out of gauze. But the problem is they are not right next to each other, so the length of an unfolded gauze is perfect. The other issue is sometimes they drain so much I need a bigger surface area than the cotton rounds. Other days I wouldn’t even need anything there. They drive me nuts!

Lisa

Adminstrator
Staff member
Have you thought about using a sanitary napkin? Maybe a panty liner? They come in all different lengths these days, and you should be able to get them less expensively than the gauze.....