• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Hormonal imbalances and Crohn's

Wondering if anyone has had this looked into, I posted in regular IBS discussion but posting here too because it might be relevant.

Chronic inflammatory conditions can cause hormonal imbalances leading to depression. I'm not an expert in hormones, I know this applies specifically to men but maybe women as well.

Your hormones are produced in a pathway starting with cholesterol that travels through a conversion process.
More on it here, or just check out the flow chart.
https://youtu.be/_xrU7HREfcU

Basically along the path, the first possible branch leads to Cortisol. If you know anything about Cortisol, it's the hormone your body produces to fight inflammation, it's immune-suppressing, it has a lot of negative effects along with its beneficial ones.

The important thing to take away from this here is if you have chronic inflammation, your body steals the resources used to create hormones to make cortisol instead and you end up with low testosterone / estrogen.

I know in the UK at least you can get TRT for this which can greatly help with general health, mood and weigh gain.

I want to look into this in the US, and I'm wondering if hormone therapy is safe with Crohn's disease.

I've spoken to bodybuilders using illegal steroids (primarily Testosterone) with Crohn's and they said it's been helpful to them, but it's a small sample size of about 2.