• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

How to better approach the topic of asking for blood results

Before I begin I'll give some relevant information about my background.

I am not a doctor but have always been interested in medicine and biology. Five years ago I worked as a data analyst for three years where I published two papers in peer reviewed scientific journals on the topic of how chemotherapy affects neutrophil counts in cancer patients. I don't mean to be immodest or arrogant but for the purpose of the rest of the post it's important to know that I do have at least a basic understanding of medicine.

Because of my background, and because I have an inquisitive personality, my first response to being diagnosed with Crohn's disease was to find out everything I possibly can about the disease and how it affects my body. My research methods include books, the internet and asking medical professionals for their advice. A year later I am still researching and finding out new things. I would definitely class my research as a coping mechanism. Knowing more about my disease makes me feel more in control of something that can easily take away my health at any time.