• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

How to workout when underweight and in a flare? Please help

Hi everyone, this is my first time on this site and I am hoping to find some advice.

I am 22 and just recently got diagnosed with Crohns disease. Before crohns and my flares, I was very active and healthy, I loved working out during HIIT, running, ab and leg workouts, and yoga.

However lately I have been flaring up so badly. It is hard to eat anything at all and I have lost a lot of weight. I am 5'6 and weigh about 90 lbs. My bmi is around 14. I am finding it difficult to not only workout, but even daily walking around and working absolutely exhausts me. I try to workout but my body is just so tired and weak and I can't find the strength.

I really want to be able to go back to eating healthy and being able to be active and workout. Everywhere I read online says to gain weight healthy you have to also workout and give your body good nutrition but it's hard to do when I am so weak I cant workout and it's hard to eat. I've been trying to do low impact exercises, yoga, and light body weight exercises and I started drinking protein powder/nutritional shakes to get some calories and nutrition.

Does anyone have any ideas? I am feeling so helpless.

cmack

Staff member