• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Incredibly frustrating and inconsistent symptoms

Hi everyone,

So this is my first time posting and I've chosen to do it in the UC forum rather than the Crohn's forum because the Crohn's is mild and only in the lower portion of my colon (small section in descending colon, 9cm inflammation in rectum). So discussions of UC seem more relevant to me.

At the moment I've been flaring for about 3 months now, two of those were before I received a diagnosis. My trigger was going through a stressful time at work and coming down with a flu/stomach bug at the same time. A perfect storm for IBD it seems.

Before diagnosis my symptoms were mild: 2-3 bowel movements a day, sometimes diarrhea sometimes fully formed. My main symptoms were blood and mucus in the stool, which became more consistent and worse as time went on. Besides some lower back pain, slight urgency and mucus farts, I actually felt fine. All my blood markers were normal. Diagnosis was made from a faecal calprotectin stool test and colonoscopy.

I've been placed on pentasa (4g) per day and 1g nightly pentasa suppositories by my GI doc. I'm also taking a plethora of supplements including folate, multivitamins, probiotics, bosweilla, L-glutamine, tumeric, etc. I also normally eat a low carb diet similar to SCD / paleo diets due to my PCOS.

After two and half weeks of treatment my GI doc was happy with my progress and told me to come back in 6 months, but I really haven't improved that much since then.