• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Surgery Options

Hi All,

I'm a newbie so should do a little intro.

Crohnie since 84 (the year not my age), 3 bouts of Crohns - 3 surgeries...

...which makes you wonder why I even try meds. But for the past year I've had huge doses of azathioprine, budesonide and infliximab but still can't shift what seems to be a (well two) lovely fibrotic strictures which reduce me to eating a small bowl of cornflakes in the morning with any 'lunch' or 'dinner' dependent on how much pain I'm in.

Anyway, staring down the barrel of another surgery/resection, I'm trying to find out about options such as balloon dilation and strictureplasty. Does anyone know what determines when these might be good options ? Also, has anyone had a resection done as keyhole/laparoscopic...I'm kind of bored with open bowel surgery.

Any help, appreciated mucho...otherwise I'd be relying on medical professionals.:eek:

It's another Ensure Christmas for me. :dance:

scottsma

Hi and welcome to the forum.I can't help you regarding your questions but there are lots of people on here who will be able to help.Of course those in the USA are just getting up,and those in Australia/New Zealand are just going to bed,so hopefully you'll get someone local looking in soon.I just wanted to welcome you,this is THE best crohnie forum ever !!!

Welcome. There are a lot of supportive, knowledge, caring people here. I myself have only had the one resection so far. If you get the chance you might want to share your story on the section called Your Story. I hope you get dome answers soon. Let us know what happens.