04-09-2019, 03:39 AM   #1
Delta_hippo

My Support Groups:
Does diet really help?

Hello everyone

I've got pretty aggressive crohns, been unwell for a year now, going through different drugs without success. I'm so tired of being ill (fast weak pulse, low blood pressure, nausea, fatigue, no appetite, feeling like I'm going to collapse). I could also really do without having to phone in sick again for a good while work wise.

So my question is, have any of you had good results from any of the diets, and if so, which one? I just want to know if they're worth trying.

Thank you very much.
04-09-2019, 06:57 AM   #2
lukesjr

I have read so much on diet my brain hearts. I have a PhD in nuclear engineering and I feel like I have read more about crohns that I should be given a PhD in Crohns! As I am sure most people here have.

As for does diet work. I don't think you can get a definitive answer to that. I have read the evidence that suggests diet works. But there have also been people that claim diet has done nothing for them. I think supplements not diet have worked pretty well for me, I have mild crohns. I often wonder weather people truly commit to diet or supplementation to make a noticeable difference. Like people might try the SCD diet for a week and say, "it doesn't work". I think food and supplementation are not potent drugs, they will take time to work. There is some research on the SCD and lowfodmap diet as well as as bunch of research on supplementation and the effect on crohns.

I would do some reading and come up with something you can fully commit to, talk to your Dr and go fully in for months. Some people have said it took 3 months for a certain diet to help. Some people have said that it took 6 months to a year before they felt better on a certain supplement.

I think most people would agree that a SCD diet or similar really can't make things any worse, so give it a try.
04-09-2019, 07:18 AM   #3
Jo-mom

My Support Groups: