• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

1 Year Diagnosed Crohns Sufferer Feeling completely lost! :(

Hello everyone!

this is my first time with all of this peeps, so please excuse me if i seem like i haven't a clue...the truth is i haven't. Thought i would start with my Story and experience haven't been dealt this little bombshell just over a year ago.

I have a feeling some of this may be sound like de ja Vu.

Around 2009 when i was 29, i noticed all of a sudden, the cramping, bloating and generally really uncomfortable feeling after every meal, that something wasn't right. As the women in my family including my mom and her sisters have all been told they have IBS, i just thought, well i obviously hadn't escaped it and now it was my turn. Did the usual, went the Doctors, did the food diaries...blah blah blah, had blood tests for all of the usual suspects, Gluten, Wheat, Dairy, Celiac etc...all clear, so was told to go away and do another food diary..cam e back and in 2010 was told i had IBS and to eat high fibre foods, grains etc as you do for that particular type of problem.

I noticed whenever i ate what they had told me to, i was in incredible pain and discomfort, but persevered as we all trust the Doctors Yeah? (Yeah right).

I worked for the Government ironically withing the Sickness benefits Department, but gradually my absences due to my problems with my stomach, got worse and worse, the doctors kept telling me i had stomach bugs and my work became less and less tolerant of this and pretty much accused me of making it up to have time off.