• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

16 year old girl with Crohn's Disease - My story/some questions

Hi everyone, my name is Nikki. I've never written in these types of forums before because I always thought it would be awkward. Anyways, I want to try it out because sometimes I feel very alone with my disease, and that no one knows how I feel (except you all, of course). In June 2009, while I was in the 5th grade, I had my first colonoscopy/endoscopy. My GI doctor told me I had Crohn's disease. Now I am currently in 10th grade, and have been through quite a lot compared to my peers. I was on prednisone for a while, along with 6-MP and flagyl. I had a lot of inflammation in my colon, which landed me in the hospital with bowel obstructions 4 times in 2012. Finally, my team of doctors told me it was in my best interest to get a laparoscopic bowel resection. On July 9th, 2012, I went to Mass General Hospital in Boston and had 10 inches removed. Since then I have NOT had any bowel obstructions, which is great. I do still have some inflammation though, so I'm on flagyl and 6-MP once a day, and zofran for nausea as needed. By the way, if you've gotten this far, leave a little * next to your reply, and thanks so much for caring about my story. Now to present day, I'm a sophomore who takes honors and AP classes and has a 3.7 GPA. When I graduate, I want to be a pediatric nurse practitioner. Sometimes though, crohns makes me nervous that I'll never be able to get a real job. It would mean a lot if some of you guys could share your stories about having crohns in college, and how it has affected your career and how you adapt. Thanks so much!!! Nikki:ghug:

Last edited by a moderator: