• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

A little of my story, feeling pretty sad and low

I was diagnosed in March with CD, after almost 2 years of D & 40 pound weight loss, I have gained 8lbsback now. I have been out of work for 2.5 mos and see my primary this week to discuss returning to work on the 24th. Here is what is making me feel very sad and down, I am scared I won't have the stamina to return to 10-11hour shifts (I am a nurse) and you are going That whole time.

I am trying to get out and do things but, find myself physically drained around 4 hours later and nauseated, I am still having my right side pain (elitis of small bowel 25cm inflamed) and my bowels are all over the place! I am constipated or I am just continuously going.

Also, my hair has thinned out and my scalp sort of burns and hurts to the touch!
I am going fora wig tomorrow. Which makes me feel so unattractive:-(. I am currently single and at a loss for trying to meet someone~
My question is has anyone heard of recovery taking this long? Have you heard of or have had your hair thin out? And last but not least.... In your opinion what should I do about work? ( I am on short term disability)

My meds are as follows: 6-MP, remicade, hycosamine, vit-B12, vitamin C withD, klonapin, Prozac, ambien CR, colace as needed and mirilax as needed, tramadol as needed and Tylenol as needed.

I could really use some words of wisdom and some encouragement... I think I am hitting an all time low:-(. Sorry for the lengthy story... I appreciate any feedback~. M

Honey

Staff member
Hi there,