• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Can diet really make a difference?

Hi Everyone!

I'm very new to any kind of support group. This is my first group and once I find one near home, I'd like to join a support group and meet ppl in person. I'm a single parent of 3 beautiful kids. I've been diagnosed with Crohn's since I was 15 yrs old. I'm now 33 and been thru all kinds of meds for my disease. It never occurred to me that one day I might be in a bag. Well, that news was broken to me last week. I'm scared and I just can't find the comfort in having it done. My surgery is set for Sept 2013. I have bout 2 1/2 mths to change this around and perhaps prolong that surgery. Docs tell me that being gluten free and diary free will do nothing for my disease that I will need surgery. I guess I'm just holding on to my last thread of hope and will cont with this diet bc in my head beats getting that surgery done. I'd love to hear stories. Anyone felt the way I feel now? . How did you get thr it? I'm open to any suggestions.

There isn't a clear cut answer concerning diet. Sometimes a diet does help Crohns and other IBD condition greatly, and other times sadly it does not.

There is a diet support section on the sight. It can be seen at:

http://www.crohnsforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=288

If looking to meet in person with others to discuss ideas you might look into the GAP diet. I have not attended a GAP gathering, but have seen there is a support net work for this diet.

Other popular diets are the SCD and Paleo.

http://gaps.me/preview/?page_id=496