• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Chronic fatigue...just another one of my problems

chronic fatigue...just another one of my problems

For the past couple of months now I've been noticing that I've been very tired all the time lately. Now this isn't something that's completely uncommon for me, or for many of you for that matter, cause I had my terminal ileum removed 7 years ago, and I know that can really mess with vitamin b-12 absorption.

However, for the past few weeks this fatigue has becoming very excessive to the point where I honestly would rather sleep in my bed while all my friends and roommates are in the living room or out having a good time. (I'm a college sophomore.) I feel like this is another huge disadvantage to me, along with my crohn's symptoms in general, and that it's really gonna hold me back in school this semester. I'm a biomedical sciences major, and I hold about a 3.6 gpa, and I take my classes very seriously. I've always been a little bit of a procrastinator, just like most of the human race, but these past couple weeks, I go to sleep early (10-11pm) and I wake up for classes, and as soon as I'm done with classes, I come back and take a nap. I wake up a couple hours later, get done what absolutely NEEDS to get done for the next day, eat dinner, and go to sleep pretty early. Normally, I'd go to the library and get work done or study, but I can't seem to get myself to do anything other than just sleep.

I started taking 1000mcg/day of vitamin b-12 about a month ago, hoping that would help to get things on track again. However, I have noticed no improvement, I've actually gotten worse since then.