• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Coffee and it's impact on Crohn's Disease

M

MarkyB

Hi All, as a newbie I've been 'catching up' on previous articles. My main interest is in self-help to try and avoid all the drugs.

:sign0144:

1st Q: WHAT IS WRONG WITH COFFEE? I love drinking coffee, the stronger the better but a few of you seem to have stopped - do you suffer? how would you know it was the coffee?

2nd Q: FIZZY DRINKS? I have also been reading here and over the net that drinking fizzy drinks 'acidic' may be a problem, both for Crohn's and Arthritis. Again - does anyone back this up and what is the reasoning behind this?

As for diet: I love eating food. Over the 18yrs since diagnosis I have been on low residue diets etc but have come to realise that they make NO difference (for me). I struggle with salads, most veg etc and find most non-absorbed foodstuff tends to go tho' very quickly!!! I also find now that I cannot eat the quantity I used to in one sitting (ie going out for a 3-course meal say) Mind you after 3 re-sections there isn't as much pipework left to take it all...

I would suggest to fellow Crohnies is to eat what you enjoy - BUT - bear in mind the potential consequences.

Hope you don't mind the length but some things are good to get out in one go... :)