• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Coffee= liquid death

Grrrrr, so I have decided to play a little trial-and-error with my all time favorite study buddy; coffee.

Last school year when I was a freshman in college, I had at least one cup of coffee most days. By the end of the year, I was in a terrible flare up.

Since then, I have pretty much cut coffee out of my diet, especially in the past 6 months since I have been so busy with school, trying to stay well until my surgery in May when the semester ends.

But lately, I've been so busy and getting a major lack of sleep, so I've decided to experiment a little bit with coffee. A couple of weeks ago, I had my first cup in quite a few months. By the end of the day, I had diarrhea. And mind you, I have been dealing with severe constipation due to my stricture. So it was almost a relief to have some type of "laxative" that works, but it worked TOO well and gave me the extreme opposite of constipation, lol.

So again today, the scientist inside me told me that I cannot blame just one incidence of D on drinking coffee. So, last night I only got 4 hours of sleep since I was up late studying for an exam, so I grabbed a coffee on my way to class this morning. Within a couple of hours (during my exam of COURSE) I felt the need to RUN to the bathroom.

So I've nearly concluded that coffee is a very FAST natural laxative to me. Which I guess can be a good OR bad thing...hmmm.

Anyone else have this problem with coffee? Do you find decaf to be any better? I don't know if its the caffeine, cause I never have a problem with drinking pop (aka soda to most of you...lol) or anything else with a lot of caffeine. HELP! I want my coffee back! :eek2: