• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Confused and in need of advice

This is my first time posting on any type of forum!

I was diagnosed with mild Crohn’s about 8 years ago but I’m positive I’ve had it all my adult life. Colonoscopies in my 20’s showed nothing but they did not investigate the small bowel which is of course where my disease is located! I went for a colonoscopy in November and discovered my disease has totally raped up! I was a bit surprised because I had been feeling pretty good! The doc put me on Cortiment for the inflammation and sent me for a CT scan. Finally had that done in March. Doc called and said he wanted to see me right away. So I went and he said the news was bad and that my small bowel was totally inflamed and there were multiple fistulas narrowing etc and that the steroids were not helping. They must be helping a bit because my symptoms have been better. Anyway, he wants me to start biologics. Not sure which one. My problem is that I liv win Canada and also have no medical benefits to pay for this type of medication. I really don’t know what to do. I don’t like this doc very much. He really rubs me the wrong way. I’m not against going for a treatment that will help if I can find a way to afford it. Ive asked for a second opinion but I can’t get in to see the other doc until September. I’m not sure what to do! Should I wait until September or should I try to go on the biologics as soon as I figure out how to get covered for them? I’m very confused and anxious!

Sue