• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Crohnie for 5 years and counting

Hi I'm new to the fourms...

I've had CD since I was 14 and it hasn't been managed well...

I initially was on prednesone for a few months and they tapered me off of that and put me on to imuran (100mgs i think)... after a year of moderately working but not as a stand alone, my ped GI took me off of that and put me on remicade... I was on remicade for 3 years till I had a bad reaction and went another year till I swtched to my dad's GI (he has crohn's too) and i got a blood test saying that after 4 weeks from when I had the infusion, I had nothing left... i was neutralizing the medicine... So it was going to be a big waste of time and money to continue it...

since this past april I have been on biweekly shots of humira, and around the 4th of July I had an abscess that formed on the backside of my abdomen wall and I had to get it drained... and everything was going great, but the hole that they used for the drain wasn't healing and I went thru a MRE to see what was happening... it sounded like it fistulized and connected to my last part of my colon... so i was bumped up to weekly shots and 100mgs of imuran to combat it... it was healing as far as i had known till i felt something opened up last week... all it did it was band-aid it up... I got squeezed in after my dads yearly colonscopy on thurs... I am kinda worried about what is going to happen next... I've never been thru surgery and the last one that my dad went thru was 20 yrs ago and was exploratory...

I had to drop out of college this year and try to work when I am up to it... so far its been a month of working and then another month off...