• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Crohns diagnosis following bowel rupture

Hi everyone, I'm completely new to this and am delighted to find a forum with others like myself, as it has been a very scary time recently for me. I was admitted to hospital on 3rd November with severe abdominal pain. This has happened on several occasions previously and i have been tested for kidney stones, appendicitis, celiac etc. Usually some anti-spasmodic meds and anti sickness would help calm the symptoms but these attacks have never been further investigated.

On this occasion though, nothing would calm the attack down. I was being given morphine and it wasn't even touching the pain. Suddenly, when I thought it couldn't get any worse, I had a massive searing pain just above my pubic bone and was screaming in agony. Following a CT scan of my abdomen, it became apparent that there was fluid leaking from somewhere and I was swiftly whisked to theatre with a suspected ruptured appendix and was told I would probably only be an hour or so. Fast forward 8 hrs and I was awakened to the news that my bowel had ruptured and it had been a massive clean up operation which had to be converted to open surgery followed by a left hemicolectomy, where half of my colon had to be removed. I spend 9 days in the adult critical care unit and was unable to see my 2 and 4 year old during this time before being moved to a ward for a further week of iv antibiotics to get the infection level low enough that I could progress to oral antibiotics and be allowed home to finish treatment.