• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Crohns flare?? Help

I am fairly new to crohns. I just got diagnosed in late January and had a small bowel resection in early feb. I've been on Remicade for a little bit now. Last Saturday I went to the hospital due to severe pain in my lower right abdomen. They said a small part in my intestines was swollen and irritated. My white blood count was around 13000 not high but still a little bit elevated. But tonight, I've literally have had diarrhea 3x within the last 2 hours. And it hurts so bad when it comes out and also it burns. Like extremely bad. When I relax my anus muscles it feels like someone is stabbing me with several needles. It just extremely burns. I just took my temp and its 99.7. I have no idea what's going on. I haven't eaten anything spicy, or bad for me.

Also, this is sorta off topic. But has anyone had weight gain when they get on Remicade? After my surgery I've gained weight mainly after I stopped taking the steroids. I've gained like 13 lbs ... It's just making me feel real uncomfortable with my body. Please help!!!

nogutsnoglory

It could be the start of a flare. If these symptoms continue please get in touch with your gastroenterologist to see how you can manage.

Jennifer

Adminstrator
Staff member
Hi shelby_bowman10. I'm sorry to hear you aren't feeling well. Although some time has passed, sorry for the late reply. How are you feeling now? Have you talked to your GI about your symptoms?