• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Diagnosed 1 year ago and just had my first surgery

Hi there,

I'm new to forums and not really sure what to say but I wanted to share my story, or at least a part of it so that people can learn from my experiences and so that I can hopefully give some good advice and get some back in return... I'm still new at this whole Crohn's thing :)

I was diagnosed last October with Crohns disease, although I've been told that I've probably been suffering with it for about 10 years (I'm now 27) and for the past year have been treated like a guinea pig with lots of different drugs and tests only to finally result in surgery 3 weeks ago.

I suffered with severe inflammation of my Ileum that was causing a narrowing of my colon and I had developed a fistula along with it. Despite steroids, immuno-suppressants and infusions, I ended up having my Ileum removed and my fistula stitched back up. I was in hospital for 10 days and suffered a slight complication resulting in trapped air where they stitched me back up (according to a CT) so I had to stay in a few more days than originally thought.

I'm going back to work tomorrow and I'm a little nervous because only a few weeks ago I couldn't stand up straight and I still get tired walking around. Don't get me wrong, I'm really bored having to stay at home all the time and I'm glad that I'm becoming useful again, but there's still so much I can't do.