• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Doctor said cimzia antibodies unlikely

nogutsnoglory

One of my doctors said that I wouldn't need to be on an immunosuppressant in addition to cimzia. He said they combine them with remicade because it has mouse protein and humira and cimzia are human proteins.

Why are so many doctors combining meds for humira and cimzia if its unlikely to develop antibodies.

well im no doctor, but i always thought the body could form antibodies to most medicines hence why the combine the two, but then again, why do some immunosuppressants stop being effective for some people? i am very much intrigued myself, either way I hope cimzia works for you!

David

Co-Founder
Antibodies to Cimzia and Humira can definitely develop though I'd avoid the immunosuppressant if that's what your doctor suggests.
Immunogenicity