• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Does anyone have any suggestions to help me?

hello,
I was diagnosed with Crohn's in July 2016. I spent practically the whole summer in hospital so it was obviously a hard time for me.
I am in my second year of A levels atm and have just turned 18, hoping to go to university in September.
I do not know anyone with Crohn's and often feel quite alone.
My treatment started with various steroids but then didn't get any better so I am now on Remicade, having an infusion every 8 weeks.
Although the majority of my days are good days, I do have the occasional day, week or month where I feel horrible.
Therefore I would love some advice from anyone else who has this horrible illness.
My questions are:
1. Does anyone else feel like the heat makes their symptoms worse? It has got hotter in the UK and I have felt a lot worse since it has.
2. Does anyone have any suggestions of over the counter medicine I can take to help abdominal pain? Currently I take Buscopan and paracetamol when feeling unwell but not sure if theres anything else out there?
3. I suffer from sickness quite a lot, sometimes feeling sick, sometimes actually being sick. Does anyone have any advice of what they do when feeling nauseous?

Thank you!

Hello!

I'm suffering in this heat too! As lovely as it is, it's killing me. I've resorted to staying in with fans and the curtains drawn which is helping. Try a wet flannel under your arm too, this should lower your temperature. Also, I'm using it as an excuse to stockpile ice lollies!