• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Excerise the answer?

I am new to posting here, been reading for year or so now. The dr.'s finally figured out in 2009 I had crohn's with fistulas. They suspect looking at past medical records that I actually had crohn's since at least 2004 (ER visits/ dr. visits).

What I can't figure out is why during deployments to Iraq I have been symptom free and when I am at home symptoms flare very bad. I am a infantry soldier, so stress should have been much higher deployed with partols and missions daily or twice a day.

What's different I ask well first off we would walk or be moving around 6-8 hours a day, then I would workout rather intensely at least 1 hour daily and played basketball with whatever free time was left. I was taking about 400 dollars a month in supplements (Cell Mass, Nitrix, NoXplode, Animal Pack, T-bomb, BCAA's, Protien, Glutamine and probably some others at random times). While on main Base's we had 4 meals a day with unlimited selection and food and we could always take to go box's for in between meals. I was probably consuming around 6,000 calories a day at least. I was normally around 220 and grew to 250lbs. of muscle this last deployment.

It is impossible with work and family to remain at that level of physical fitness, just not enough hours in the day. I still workout almost daily and backpack when I am not in severe pain. I surely can't afford to eat unlimited amounts of food and take 400 dollars worth of supplements. So the question is.

Does excerise at extreme levels give you body so much to repair and rebuild that it just doesn't have enough energy left to cause a issue with crohn's flare?