• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Facing Removal Terminal ileum in a few weeks..

Hi all, I'm fairly new to both here and to Crohns. Found out I had it April, 2012.
In the last few months I've experienced severe pain, vomiting and been put in hospital 6 times. I just got out today after my last stay. It's always the Terminal ileum that is the worst affected with a complete blockage this time, but it always responds to high dose Prednisone. I'm also now on Humira. (since April)

After starting the Humira and weaning down on the Pred, I kept ending up right back in the hospital at about 10-15 mgs of Pred. Just got out of the hospital again where it showed a total blockage of the Terminal ileum. They were pleased that the Humira seemed to be helping by showing LESS inflammation in the other areas but the Terminal ileum was scarred almost shut. They think the Pred was keeping it open just enough to get by, until Pred wean reached the 10 to 15 mg mark each time. Mine starts with severe bloating, then horrible stomach pain, projectile vomiting and then unable to have any bowel movements. It can happen very fast.

SO.. I spent a very unhappy birthday (Monday) in the hospital and am now facing the removal of the TI in early Sept. I will admit this has knocked my poor brain for a loop. Unsure what to expect.

I guess I just want to be around people who understand. I got this disease later in life than many of you and so admire your strength! I turned 54 on Monday in the hospital.

Anyone who has had the TI removed along with part of the large intestine. ( I may not have all the words correct yet, I'm still learning)..I'd love to hear from you.