• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Finally been diagnosed I know I am not going mad

Hi there

Newbie here

I am 38 years old and I live in North West England in the UK.

I am also an Aschkenazi Jew which I understand is important in the diagnosis of CD and I carry the Tay Sachs gene.

I currently have diagnosed endometriosis (3 laparoscopies and 1 removal so far) and PCOS (polycystic ovaries) and I have now also been diagnosed with Crohns disease.

I have suffered from what I now know to be unnatural stomach problems for years in fact the earliest 'urgent' incident me and my mum can remember was probably when I was 6 or 7.

My problem is due to my gynae problems as the stomach pain has got worse and the pain in my right hip and pelvic area increased the drs just assumed that it was the endometriosis returning.

However after my third laparoscopy they said that yes the endo had returned but it was in a different area and it was not causing my pain and they thought it was Pelvic Congestion Disorder but nope after a venogram that was negative as well so I was referred to a gastoentorologist.

I had blood tests, a barium small meal and a full colonoscopy where they took 20 biopsies, removed a polyp and found a few aptheous ulcers in my terminal ilieum.

I was then told it was CD and the senior pathologist had doubled checked the slides and agreed with the initial diagnosis.