• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

First flare up and feeling down - hi :)

Hi,

After a few days of reading through posts on these forums, I have decided to introduce myself. I am here because I need the support from those who understand what I am going through (and also to vent :shifty-t:).

Background:
pains began six months ago. Diagnosed two months ago, via colonoscopy and CT, the day after my 22nd birthday. I have an abscess (lower-right), bleeding, perforation, infection, and swollen everything.
A week in hospital, 5 weeks on a most revolting diet of “Alitraq” (anyone use this?), with the goal of avoiding surgery. After five weeks, things seemed to improve greatly. But sometime after the doctor said, “okey, another two weeks of Alitraq, at least,” I broke down, switched into a half-liquid, half-low-residue diet. Immediately got worse. Now doctor says it is time for surgery.

Present day:
Do I have surgery? “We need to do everything in our power to avoid surgery.”
Okey, so how do I avoid surgery? “Go back on Alitraq.”
But how can I bring myself to restart this diet again? After five weeks on Alitraq the problem still wasn’t fixed.
Any other options? "Maybe."

I feel that I am in a lose-lose-lose situation.

I’m still learning what is considered a “basic flare up” or a “serious flare up”, so I don’t know where my situation lands on the scale of things…I just think that this “initiation” to Crohn’s-colitis has been...extra sucky.