• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

First Time - Blood Test Frustration

This is my first time on the forum (I have been reading the forum for years but finally decided to join).

I was dx with Crohns in 2008. My Crohns is not severe thankfully, although it is a cause of anxiety. My blood results indicate that I have been in remission since about 2010. Which is great, except I still seem to be symptomatic, which I find frustrating as I am regularly made to feel like a hypochondriac!

Tried the FODMAP diet twice, as GI thinks I have IBS as well, (religiously followed it) both times my D worsened due to lower fibre intake.

This year I developed arthritic type pain in my right hand, which the GP put down to a minor trauma, but x-rays were all clear. MRI showed minor inflammation in the synovial membrane of my wrist, but nothing too worthy of further investigation. Blood work was normal (ESR and CRP not elevated) so GP said no autoimmune cause and just rest it.. So as an experiment I decided to start taking my Pentasa again (been off it for about 6mts), and low and behold the pain was gone after a week. I have now been 2 days without Pentasa after being back on it for a month (waiting on new script from GI) and pain is as bad as when I first went to the GP.

I have always had a lot of faith in medicine and Drs but I am starting to learn that with this disease sometimes we have to learn to trust our own instincts and knowledge! (Apologies for the long post!)

Maya142

Staff member
Spondyloarthritis is common with Crohn's. You would have to see a rheumatologist to be diagnosed with spondyloarthritis.