• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

First-timer Here

Hello all. This is my first time here. I'm currently 26 and I was "kind of" diagnosed with Crohn's at age 25 ( September of 2014). I say "kind of" diagnosed because my doctor never came right out and said "You have Crohn's" but has frequently conversed with me about Crohn's and the like. Has anyone had a problem with that with their doctors? Anyways, back to the story.

I guess I've had on and off symptoms for years and just never done anything about it until the summer of 2014 when my symptoms were at an all time high (my guess is that it had something to do with the physics 2 class I was taking and the stress). Saw the gastroenterologist on August 26th and came out with an appointment for a colonoscopy on September 18th. I knew when the doctors office called me only 4 days after the procedure that something wasn't right. The areas of inflammation were consistent with Crohn's. I definitely was in shock. I don't think I'm over that shock still.