• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Fish oil

My endocrinologist has advised me to start taking fish oil for my triglycerides. All he said was to take 1-2 a day of the 1000 mg pills. I don't know anything about fish oil, except that I've heard of people having increased belching with taking it and having a bad taste in the mouth. Are there certain kinds or brands of fish oil that help prevent this? Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Lisa

Hey Lisa,

I've been using fish oil for about 9 months now, 2400mg 2 pills a day. The brand I use is Rexall and I got it from Walmart. I haven't had any of the after tastes or fishy burps since I have been on it. I have heard that some do leave the fishy taste/burp but honestly I not familiar with any other one's, so I can't say if there is another that may be better than the one I'm on. I hope this is of some help for you.

There are fish/flax oil pills gel caps that will keep you from tasting it as it goes down. I never noticed any benefit other than my good cholesterol levels being exceptionally high.

my son is on 6 fish oil a day, he is twelve, and was diagnosed in December with Crohn's. 3 in the morning and 3 at night. Put them in the freezer and this keeps you from burping them up. you want to get the pureset kind you can get.

Good luck.

The best you can get is actual fich oil, not the pills. It doesn't have too bad of a taste, it's kind of lemony, but it does have a very oily texture so you may want to drink something afterwards to wash it down. Good luck