• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

G'day from Bayswater Victoria.

Hi all.
This is my first time posting obviously lol.
Mainly involved on car forums but thought id branch out from the same routine and meet other people out there.

I am a 24yo Male from Bayswater victoria and thought i join up and share my story.
My Name is James (preffer Jimmy)

I was diagnosed with Crohns at the age of 9.
It took a couple of years to be diagnosed and first off was told it was just constipation and was put on parachoc by my dr.
After a couple of months on this i had lost weight rapidly and had gotten worse.
Was down to 23kg and spent most of my days laying on a couch in pain and having next to no energy.

In the end my pop said enough is enough and told my mum to take me to the royal childrens hospital.
I wont go for a lon essay on this as i do have a lot to say but am currently camping in Echuca with my wife and 2 boys ages 2/12 and 10months

Anyways i was finally diagnosed with crohns and in the school holidays of 1999/2000 i had my first bowel resection and a illeostomy bag in place to give my large bowel a rest.i also had ulcerative colitis at this stage.
I began to improve after the operation and was on 42 different tablets back then which i cant remember how on earth i was able to fit soo many in my stomach lol.
I was playing tennis before i got sick and was getting active in life.
Anyways after my op everything was coming on the up.
I was putting on weight and gaining strength again and started tennis up but was having minor back pains in my lower back.
I told the drs and they didnt think much of it.