• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Greetings. Another Newbie Here.

So here I am… another unwilling member of the Crohn's Club. Boo Hoo.:(

Diagnosed yesterday. Background history… IBS for 40+ years, since my early twenties. Got worse with each passing year. Have traveled all of Europe and the US and can point out every underpass, overpass, bridge, ditch, bush, outbuilding… you name it… that I've had to use to relieve myself. It's a sad, sad thing when one's entire life revolves around knowing where the closest bathroom is.
So about ten years ago I had my first colonoscopy and a humongous 6 cm precancerous polyp was discovered. Had to have it surgically resected, entirely too large to attempt with the scope loop. From then on it was every two years for a colonoscopy. New polyps each time, but no more monsters. Was told I had some very significant diverticulitis along with quite a bit of ulcerative colitis and IBD. Endoscopy also performed two years ago and to my great surprise, I was also diagnosed with GERD, Barretts Esophagus and a large, deep gastric ulcer. Never had any GERD symptoms, not even heartburn in my life. EVER. But there it was. What a shocker that was!