• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Growing old with your stoma

Hi :)

So I do appreciate this will only be applicable to a few of us here (those of us with permanent stomas) but I would like to hear from anyone who has a stoma, if they ever think about how their stoma will impact upon their life, when they're a lot older.

As a nurse, I come across a number of elderly patients with stomas, who for a whole host of reasons, are not able to care for themselves and consequently their stomas. And so they're completely reliant upon care givers to help manage their stoma needs. I turn forty in January and I do, on occasion, find myself contemplating my later life with a stoma. I guess being a nurse makes me more aware of the care and assistance I would hope to receive.

So, I'm wondering how you guys feel about your future with a stoma. Do you not really give it much thought, and are you more focused on today? Do you even think about how your life will play out, in the later years with a stoma? Are you concerned about it? How do you feel?

greetings DMac,

I'm a crohnie who got her ileostomy at the age of 17. It was life or death so it saved my life.

I've been very active in the ostomy support group where I live and I see some elderly patients who have issues with caring for their ostomies too. Some are lucky to have a spouse or family member help change and others are not so lucky then they are in a nursing home where the care sucks.