• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Have some questions about my future medicine

Hi guys I'm still pretty new to Crohns disease. My doctor prescribed me prednisone(steroids) to start off Tuesday and until remission. I'm just kind of worried about bad side effects of the steroids, does anyone have experience with this drug and have advice? Also once I'm feeling better from it can I work out while taking it (I'm a wrestler and am used to working out a lot ).Thanks!

Last edited:

nogutsnoglory

It's fast acting and you can work out if you feel able. Sometimes pred makes people angry and aggressive which may be good given your sport.

The side effects are bad so the best thing is to get off or taper as soon as able.

Lady Organic

Staff member
prednisone tend to get me super enthousiastic with very little sleep. I once exhausted myself physically while on it and paid the price after. Give yourself some time to rest, heal and repair your body while maintaining mild physical activity is my advice, even if you experiment speedy recovery during the treatment. In my experience, Drs taper down by 5 mg per week until 5mg/week. so depending on your initial dosing, you shall be able to know approximately when this round of pred is over, if it all goes well. if symptoms dont improve or get worse, call your GI; adjusting of dosing is not uncommon in CD and finding the right amount of a medication can sometimes take a few trials. best wishes.

David

Co-Founder
While you can workout while on prednisone, they are not anabolic steroids. They're a different kind so you're not going to see the huge muscle mass gains.