• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Hey! I got laid off; good cheap recipes?

My disease has forced me to miss days at work, and I was very unexpectedly terminated today. My symptoms seem to be exacerbated by stress, so I'm working hard on staying positive and finding ways to get through this.

Now, with extra time, I can cook a bit more, and I'd like to find a few recipes that are: (1) relatively easy to make (I'm a novice at cooking), (2) cheap, (3) won't interact negatively with my stomach.

My individual sensitivities include most diary products, most raw vegetables, and anything over "mild" on a spicy scale.

Taste isn't a large consideration. At this point, I'll eat anything, as long as it doesn't upset my intestines. I've lost 50 lbs (195->145) in the past year, mostly because I just can't find the appetite. Maybe you can help me change that :).

I'm short on cash myself at the moment, and have been googling cheap recipes. I'm vegetarian though. You can try substituting rice or soy milk for dairy products in some recipes if dairy bothers you. Here's one site I found: http://www.recipelion.com/Budget-Friendly-Recipes/25-Poor-Man-Cheap-Meals-and-Frugal-Recipes

For breakfast, I do oatmeal, cream of wheat, eggs, or toast. Lunch is usually leftovers. Dinners consist of soups, casseroles, pasta, fried rice and spring rolls, perogies, occasional homemade pizza or lasagna. I buy frozen vegetables and use them in everything. Potatoes are cheap and filling. To gain weight have snacks several times a day. Peanut butter on crackers. Hard cheese if you can digest it. Canned fruit. Vegetable oil and margarine are over 100 calories per tablespoon. Good luck.