• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Hi, newbie here, I'm Emily & I was diagnosed with Crohn's in 2007

Hi there, name’s Emily, I'm 23, 24 in like... 12 days...D:, and you can call me Em or whatever. I love gaming, TV, movies, Japan, China, Korea, Asia in general really. Dr Who, Lost, geeky stuff like that :3 Currently playing Pokemon, Animal Crossing New Leaf and the demo of Bravely Default, which I'm loving. Currently watching Almost Human, Once Upon a Time, Grey's Anatomy, HIMYM, New Girl, Sleepy Hollow, Masters of Sex and god knows how much else XD
I was diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease in 2007, I’ve had a fairly lucky time until this year for the most of it compared to alot of horror stories I've read, Azathioprine controlled it and went on prednisolone whenever I flared up. Which wasn't too often, unless I'm deciding to blank it from my memory.... When I was 17 I got all fatigued and lethargic, had stomach pains and loss of appetite. Doctor's thought it was a simple case of anemia, so put me on iron tablets, but blood tests revealed I wasn't absorbing the iron properly, so we ended up going to a private gastro doctor, and not long after I was diagnosed, it must have been about 6 months between the start of the symptoms and diagnosis I think. Which I'm told is surprisingly quick for a Crohn's disease diagnosis...