• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

I am new here, with Crohn for 8 years, facing a surgery now.

Hi Everyone.
I am new newbie here. I have been diagnosed with Crohn’s disease in 2006, when I was at the college in China. After the colonoscopy, the doctor told me that I got IBD. But She was not sure it’s Crohn’s or UC.

I was under the treatment with 5-ASA for a month, the symptom was less. Then I had no treatment for about 2 years. In 2009, I had an anal abscess, and I just had it cut open at the ward, as I cannot tolerate the pain, and wait for the surgery on the following day. (when I looked back, it was not wise decision.) one year later, the wound finally formed a fistula.

In 2009, I came to the Netherlands with my fistula. And meanwhile, I treat my Crohn’s with Mesalamine. At that moment, I cared more about the fistula, and quite worried about the surgery I might have. I saw a surgeon first for the fistula; he transferred me to a GI doctor. Then I start my treatment with Humira, 40mg per 2 weeks. And it lasts till now.

The fistula did not react to the medicine, so finally I need to cut it open by a surgery. Not as painful as I thought, and I do not lose my control for the anal. I had another peri-anal fistula, but luckily this one washealed by Humira.
My symptoms of Crohn’s disease went up and down for the following years. I did have some “accidents” within these years, spent more than one hour to empty my stomach before leaving the house. And I knew every public toilets on the way to the office. And if there is no toilet nearby, I would feel uncomfortable and nervous.