• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

I am new to this, but not new to Crohn's Disease

I have had Crohn's Disease for amny years now maybe all my life. Was not diagnosed until 1981. Spent a lot of time in the hospital back then as tried the true and old fashioned way -- IV and meds mixed together. Everyone else was getting surgery and out in no time. My doctors in the beginning did not suggest surgery in any way and what the hell at the age of 25 it just felt good to be away from my parents as my mother did not take the news or the 100 bathroom trips a day too well.

Trouble started in 2005 after the capsule endoscopy which is still inside of me. Problem wsa that I lost my health insurance in 1999 when I was canned and continued on COBRA and then switched over to a individual plan which bankrupted me. The Medicaid for six months and finally the stat subsidized plan.

Been to many, many doctors in Brooklyn (who knew nothing) and many in NYC (affiliated with the best hospitals). Still no results. Have been told so many outrageous stores as to why the problem I have exists. Always explained about the pain, nausea, bloating after eating and some incidents were food caused terrible abdominal pain and throwing up of what ever was ingested whole.