• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

I had a stroke

Hi. I am new to the forum and was just diagnosed with Crohn's on 8/5/2013. I have an active abscess in the terminal ileum and am facing ileocecal resection. I had a small stroke on 8/26 at work. Thankfully my coworkers jumped into action to call 911 and contact family members. I spent three days in the hospital. The symptoms resolved and I am doing fine for now. This has added a new layer of complexity and stress to the upcoming surgery (which is delayed for the moment because of the stroke). I have read that some with Crohn's can develop a blood clotting disorder, as the blood is stickier. Anyone else here been through the same thing and had surgery, with success? Just a bit stressed and trying to chill at this critical time :)

Last edited:
Hi Zora

Welcome to the forum. Sorry you had to go through that it must have been really scary.

They thought my daughter had a stroke while she was in hospital in March. She couldn't see anything out of her left eye and all the left side of her body went numb for a while.

Luckily this has never happened again.

What have your Doctors said about your upcoming surgery? (((HUGS)))

Hi, Niks. Thanks for your kinds words and I am glad your daughter is OK in that regard. The surgery is expected to be laparoscopic but that could change. Right now, the surgeon is awaiting records from the hospital and neurologist before proceeding. It should hopefully be within the next couple of weeks.

hi Zora,