• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

I'm just a burden on my family

This is really hard to write because I have always thought of myself as a fighter and a survivor. I'm just so depressed. I used to have a wonderful family, a great husband and three beautiful kids, but I am just driving them away. I can't stand myself and don't think I should be dragging everyone else down.

I have been fighting crohns for the last 20 years, it's just getting harder, not easier. Last year in August I had to have a panproctocolectomy and have ended up with a permanent Stoma. I hate it, I hate myself and I hate this disease. Every time I have another op I think this is the last one, well, I don't think there will ever be a last one. I just don't want to do it anymore. I'm not suicidal, just completely beaten and just want to run away. It's probably a good thing I don't have the energy or a plan.

My husband doesn't seem to love me anymore, I think he just stays out of duty and for the kids. I don't blame him, I wouldn't stay for me. I'm just not coping and I give up.

I love them all dearly and am just a burden on them all. Their lives would be much better without me.

Janette, I'm so sorry for all you are going through and have gone through. I just wanted to send hugs and let you know someone was listening.

Do you have an outlet or someone you can talk to about everything you are experiencing. Of course, we are always here for you!

Last edited: