• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Just diagnosed with Crohns and pregnant

Hi! I'm a newbie. Just spent 9 days in the hospital so dehydrated, losing mass blood and extremely low on potassium. I was fortunate enough to be diagnosed right away with Crohns. Apparently my pregnancy ramped it up. So yes, not only do I have this stupid disgusting painful disease but I also worry about the health of my unborn child. The doctor said that my three miscarriages could be caused by Crohns. How awful is that?! I'm so sick right now and so worried and I'm getting depressed bc I don't know if I'm ever going to feel better. I take so much medication and I'm still so sick and tired. I just needed to vent and maybe talk to others that know how I feel. What's my life going to be like from now on? Pain and diarrhea and exhaustion and being scared to eat? I'm bummed and I know that's not going to make me healthier. I'm just scared I guess. Thanks for listening.

valleysangel92

Staff member
Hello there, welcome to the forum.

It's totally understandable that you're scared, crohns can be a devastating illness to be diagnosed with. Honestly I don't think anyone would not get at least a little scared when first diagnosed. The positive thing is that now you have a diagnosis, you can have treatment and start getting back on your feet.

I can't tell you it will be easy, I can't tell you it will all disappear or how long it will take you to start feeling more like yourself again. What I can tell you is you are not on your own, this will get easier and your life isn't over.