• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Just Introducing Myself

Hi everyone!

First, my name is Lindsay. I'm a 28yo female. I'm American but currently living overseas in the United Arab Emirates (in Abu Dhabi) working with kids with Autism. I'm an applied behavior analyst so I work with kids to find the most effective child-specific teaching strategies to combat their learning and behavior deficits. It's a very intensive job both physically and mentally but I love what I do.

I was recently diagnosed with Crohn's Disease (June 2016) after having years of IBS symptoms (mostly C, rarely D) that culminated in bloody stool and abdominal pain (March/April 2016). After a colonoscopy, barium swallow, and MREnterography my GI concluded I have Crohn's. She has never specified where exactly but I read the copy of my colonoscopy (I get copies of all my reports) and it showed some patchy inflammation throughout the colon and the official note on that was "left-sided colitis with skip lesions indicative of probably Crohn's". The XRay and MRE showed no stricturing or obstruction. That would suggest mostly in my colon although I rarely have D. I generally have 'upper GI' problems like nausea, stomach pain, appetite issues, etc when I am flaring.