• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Just trying to get by...

I have never used a forum before.. I have no idea what I am doing. I do know that I have Crohns and Ulcerative Colitis. It started out with pain in my stomach, vomiting, diarrhea and at times constipation. I am 19 years old and was diagnosed with Crohns and Ulcerative Colitis last year. I had gone through several years of pain before I ever figured out what was really wrong with me. It started out kind of abruptly.. I was 15 when the pain started and it threw me off. It was out of the blue and it wouldnt go away. I lost 10 pounds in one week and I was also very weak. I'm on medication now and sometimes it works and other times I find myself in pain. I take prilosec and mesalamine.
The reason I joined this forum is to maybe find people my age dealing with this disease. No one around me in my area is going through what I am. I can't drink alcohol nor can I eat out as much as I would like to. It sounds petty to everyone around me, here, but to me it is like someone ripped my world from underneath me...

Those things are not petty! They are a huge part of life, and it's really hard when you can't do them. I am eighteen, and was diagnosed two and a half years ago. Some days are really hard, and some days are actually ok. Hang in there!