• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Just want some input

I'm new at this so here goes nothing.... I'm an 18 year old boy, a senior in high school who was taking multiple AP classes, working at least 2 part time jobs at at time and volunteering almost 20 hours a week at national ski patrol. I was planning on going to the air force academy and recently got accepted.
however, none of this really matters right now. back in October I was diagnosed with ulcerative colitis after being very sick for a few months. I was put on prednisone and it started to get under control. I thought that colitis was just a minor inconvenience and ddnt realize how bad it could become. in January I started to flare up again, but like I said I did very little because I didn't realize how bad it could get. I ended up in the hospital by the beginning of February for anemia, malnutrition, dehydration, and exhaustion. they said I would be there 4 to 5 days and then should have reached some sort of remission, after 12 days in the hospital with little progress I went home and started taking more medications.
I am currently on prednisone, asacolec, canasa, mercaptapurine, iron supplements, pro biotics and percocet for pain. the pain for the past two weeks has been nearly unbareable and I don't seem to be getting better with all these medications, and if anything the pain is getting worse. the bleeding hasn't gotten bad since I was in the hospital though. I am currently missing a day or two of school a week, had to drop some classes, I can't play on the tennis team I am a captai. of, and I'm out sick from work so I am not making any money, plus I found out I can never be in the air force.