• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Massage & Crohn's

C

ChicagoCrohns

massage & Crohn's

I am a massage therapist and I have Crohn's. I am interested in specializing in digestive related illness in my massage practice. Do you get massages? Does it help? Would you be open to abdominal massage (done by a person who suffers from CD and would be aware of your pain)? What specifically would you want a MT to focus on when you have a massage?
I am researching some different modalities and would love your input.

Thanks
Kate

D

DannyB

I would love a massage to assist in pain relief and such-like.

If I was to get a massage then my abdominal area and lower back would be most lovely indeed.

i have been thinking of seeing a MT. i would want a overall one, concentrated on upper/lower back and legs. my muscles in my shoulders are extremely tense and with the inflammation i get in my ankles, my legs have been feeling heavy and dead. i have a little handheld battery massager, it seems to soothe my intestines when they are in pain. the vibration i guess.
if you are in vic, bc i'll come and see ya;)
good luck

V

Valentina

I love a massage, but if I have a sore tummy, just the thought of someone pressing on it sends shivers down my spine... but Im all for rubbing muscles.. mmm, yes I do like that.

mikeyarmo

Co-Founder
(Not in Chicago) but I would be open to a massage if there was some optimism that I would have relief (assuming I was in pain). I have been told before that an abdominal massage could help, but never had one. I was actually told (by a natural doctor) that it could actually heal a stricture. I did not really believe this, and am curious if you think this is true.

D

Donna