• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Mental Effects of Crohn's

Hello, I was diagnosed with Crohn's in October 2012, suffering badly since February 2012.

It was a hard transition initially and I spent a long time in hospital, I lost my job in London and soon after had to leave my London flat. I coped well enough with all the physical pain, injections on a bi-weekly basis, and the fistula.

I can't cope with the mental side effects of the disease. I was 19 when I was diagnosed after spending over a year unemployed and recovering form a very long flair up, I find it hard to leave the house. I've got a good system at home to cope with it, i've been working full time again now for 3 months (apart from one hospitalisation for 1 week) and I can't find a good system for working with crohn's.

I've tried altering my diet to something similar to the 2-5 diet which actually is more like a 3-4 diet for me and I am loosing too much weight now. Have also tried regular eating healthy amounts every day and my bowel movements are just too painful to go that often.

With all the medication being tired and in pain at work is making me very depressed, making me self concious, giving me a strong OCD tendency and everything lately is pushing me over the edge. Anyone else had anything like this? Discovered any coping strategies?

I can say that having a miserable disease likes Crohns should be enough for any of us, but you me and many others on here have a hard time dealing wirh all the perphial problems that come along with it . I can say for me this forum has been a life saver. No matter what you are struggling with throw it on here minimally you will find you are not alone with your trouble .