• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Mild crohn's-not looking forward to more than mild

I've been battling fructose malabsorption for about 5 years and have done really well with diet and keeping it under control. Im a endurance mountain bike racer and have even excelled at my sport through years of trial and error.
I just got diagnosed with crohn's after having severe diarrhea for 9 days and ending up in the hospital. Im waiting for lab work to come back on a bunch of biopsy's they took while doing scopes and my glands in neck are really really sore to touch so I may have more going on than just crohn's.
But wow crohn's has really thrown me for a loop my guts really hurt and food just doesn't seam to work well at all. And my energy level is so low I don't want to do anything, which is really weird for me I usually train on my bike 10 to 16 hours a week.
I guess some of it could be my anemia which Ive struggled with for 6-7 years and my numbers are really low right now but as usual I can never find a doc that is willing to really do anything about the anemia except to say take iron.
Any advice is much appreciated.

DJW

Forum Monitor
Hi. Don't give up on mountain biking. I think it's great you're doing it.

You may not get crohns complications. It's important to knock the inflammation out quickly. Often doctors will agressively treat the inflammation. Keep a food and symptom journal to identify trigger foods.

I hope you get remission quickly.