• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

My co-workers told me to fet a different job today.

Hi, I have never done this before but i am bawling at this point . please help me!!! I was told by at leaset 3 employess today that we are a team and when i call in sick it put's them out, "it's sure covienent that when i call in it's always over along stretch and I should find another job". I work a point 8 so I am assuming they mean next to my days off or a weekend. God! How I wish i could plan my flare-ups. I at max call in 3x/a month and sometime only once. and yes I do have a FMLA. I have had crohns for many years always held a job. I Love my job, I felt at 52 I would stay here till I retire. Had surgry years ago. Took this job as a day surgery nurse 5 years ago, Yes I work with nurses and yes they do not understand. I have to say in the begining of my five years I was reallllly sick and off alot. But when I was so sick I found out I was allergic to Gluteon and since then last 4 years I have been gluteon free and have been much better. Maybe I am to happy go lucky and people think I am not sick I truely do not know. So, telling people I'm not sure is good? I feel my Director nor my Charge Nurse do nothing to support me in fact, I have ased my Charge nurse to not schedule me to open on the day after whenI've been ill, because it just starts everybodies day out bad if I have to call in. And after 5 years she still doe's it. My patient's Love me, I do know that. They say to me at least 2 times per week "You really love your job, don't you, it shows" No body can take that from me, I know I am an exceptional worker and would be honored to have me as an employee. I am a work hard, play hard