• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

My Crohn's is Spreading!

I am 26 years old. I have been suffereing from Crohn's disease for 13 years and have been diagnosed for 11 years. At 15 I had my first bowel resection and appendectomy. At 18 I hand my second bowel resection and cholecystecomy (gallbladder removal). Just before I turned 25 I had my third bowel resection.

It has been about a year and a half sine my last surgery. I was not feeling well and went to the doctor and suggested we do a colonoscopy before the end of the year (bc of course I have already met the deductible). There we found that my Crohn's is active. I have ulcers throughout the small bowel. Here is my question.....

How many people have had their Crohn's disease spread to other areas in the digestive tract? The colonoscopy also showed that the disease has spread to the perianal region (if having Crohn's isn't embarrassing enough!) and the ulcers are present there too. I am having bleeding, weight loss, and pain. I am crippled my nausea without a daily regiment of pills.

The spreading of the Crohn's has heightened a new sense of worry and anxiety with the disease. If any one has had this happen
Does it spread more easily, often now that it has spread to another region?
Are you more likely to have a ileostomy? (MY WORST FEAR BTW)
Please share your experience. :pale:

PsychoJane

Well, the unfortunate truth is that crohn's can affect the digestive tract anywhere from mouth to the anus. At diagnosis my disease was only present in my colon but I also had lots of mouth ulcers. The last flare was affecting my small bowel. It's annoying, needless to say!