• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

(My Intro) In search of support...

Hi everyone - My name is Kristi. I am 27, and was diagnosed with Crohn's in 2007. Here is my best attempt at abbreviating "My Story"!

* 2007 - Graduate School (Occupational Therapy) After countless ER vists and admissions, finally diagnosed!!! Followed by open small bowel resection due to partial obstruction

* 2008 - Despite resection, inflammation continued - symptomatic and visible with scans... Trialed Pentasa, then 6MP, then began Remicade ~ 8 wks.

* 2009-2010 - YAY I graduated with my Masters! First "real job" began... Symptoms persisted, pain increased, BM frequency increased, fatigue worsened, joint pain appeared ~ Remicade moved up to 6 wks and added B-12 inj and various probiotics and antispasmodics

* 2010 - Changed jobs to one with more flexible hours due to fatigue and symptoms worsening

* 2011 - Changed jobs again to even more flexible hours and less physically demanding

* 2011 - Partial obstruction and adhesion difficulties - 2nd Open small bowel resection and adhesion removal
** Acquired VRE from hospital, developed seroma in peritoneal cavity that burst through incision 2 weeks after surgery that resulted in a wound that was several inches deep and took 4 months of packing and treatment to heal.
** Had to take long quit this new job. "Rested" until 2012 - symptoms were slightly improved during "rest" period.