• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

My journey through Crohns

Hi there. This is my first time on here after years of glancing on here for reassurance lol.
I was first diagnosed with crohn's in mid 2009 just after I turned 14. No known family history of this kind in my family. Before that from about aged 10 was a struggle - Just after I moved from the UK to NZ. Constipation was the biggest issue - sometimes not going for a few weeks. My parents thought I was just being lazy for not walking my dog, but in fact had crippling stomach aches. I was not growing really at all - I was 14 at 143cm and 26Kg. I couldn't even fit the smallest school uniform available.

I would have cold sweats, vomiting, stomach aches, pale complexion, and poor eye sight. Yet I would still go to school everyday - maybe even vomit during the day after feeling so sick. (One time I told my teacher this, and he thought I was trying to get out of a test. I finished the test and then vomited on his shoes). I would isolate myself from peers and sit down reading every break because I felt so bad. I had a really weird immune system too. I never got bugs or colds even when my family did. I was misdiagnosed a few times - they said bugs from food. My family started to think I was bulimic. I felt hurt by this as I was yearned to eat a big bowl of mashed potato and some kfc fried chicken.

My dad finally had enough with the misdiagnosis' and carried me into hospital where they did various barium tests and found out about the crohns. I then went on a liquid diet for a few months while at school. Then I had an acute episode, followed by a CT and a resection. I spent two months in hospital after a post-op infection.