• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

My Story So Far

Hi Everyone,
My name is Jess and this is my first time on a forum and pretty much sharing my story, so dont be too harsh! Ahaha :)
Im 15, an Aussie and I was just recently diagnosed with Crohn's Disease about 4 months ago and my life has completely changed...
Before my diagnoses I had been suffering with constant diarrhoea, excruciating stomach pains, ulcers in mouth for over a year. My mum would take me to the GP but they would do nothing about it. Early this year it was getting worse. We once again went to the GP and I got blood tests, after blood tests. We found out I was Anaemic but we still didn't know the bigger picture. By now my Mum couldn't wait any longer so she took me to the Emergency room. They admitted me straight away because I was losing lots of weight (I went from 44kg down to my lowest of 35kg). I spent 4 days in hospital and all we got out of it was an appointment in 3 weeks time to get a colonoscopy and endoscopy.
On the day I had them my doctor came back and told us I had Crohn's Disease. And I started Infleximab treatment 1 week later. Things were starting to look better! :)